Wiccan and Witchcraft Symbols

Pentacle or Pentagram

 The pentacle or pentagram is an important symbol in Wicca and witchcraft. It is a circle surrounding a five pointed star. The five points showing the different elements of nature. Those elements are earth, air, fire, water, and spirit. Each element has associations with compass direction as well. Earth is north, air is east, fire is south, water is west and spirit is center.

Triple Moon Symbol

The triple moon is a Goddess symbol that represents the Maiden, Mother, and Crone as the waxing, full, and waning moon. It is also associated with feminine energy, mystery and psychic abilities.

Triquetra Symbol

The Triquetra symbol has different symbolism according to whom you ask. For pagans, the Triquetra represents the threefold nature of the Goddess as
virgin, mother and crone. It also symbolizes life, death, and rebirth and the three forces of nature: earth,air, and water. To some it is a protection symbol. To Christians it represents the Trinity _Father, Son, Holy spirit.

Horned God Symbol

The Horned God symbol represents the masculine energy of the God.

Septagram Symbol

The Septagram symbol or the Elven Star, or seven-pointed star, is found in some branches of the Faerie tradition of Wicca.  However, it has different names and can be associated with many other magical traditions. Some say each point represents a pathway, or the “seven rays of manifestation of the Higher Self. The septagram or (heptagram) is important in Western kabbalah, where it symbolizes the seven planets, the seven alchemical metals, and the seven days of the week.

Hecates Wheel

Hecate’s Wheel is a maze like symbol that is associated with the triple aspect of the Greek Goddess Hecate. She is viewed as a dark Goddess and is the Goddess of the cross-roads and the Underworld. She is well known as the Goddess of the Witches in Greek Mythology.

Wheel of the Year

The eight-spoked wheel, symbolizes the cycle of the year.  Each spoke represents one of the eight Sabbats, Imbolc, Ostara, Beltane, Litha, Lamas, Mabon, Samhain, and Yule.  The significance of the wheel is that there is no beginning or end, it is continual.  We may call January 1st the start of the year, (Though many Witches think of November 1st as the first of the year) but the calendar doesn’t stop, then start up again, it moves from day to day without end.  It’s this unending cycle that the wheel of the year signifies.

Shop for metaphysical jewelry


In Wicca and The Craft, there are eight standard holidays recognized during the year. They are as follows:

Yule: Yuletide, Winter Solstice- This is the winter solstice, the shortest day of the year.  The festival associated with it celebrates the birth of the new solar year.  The solstice is linked to the rebirth and renewal of the sun god, the lord.  Associated with Yule is holly, pine, evergreen, tree (Christmas tree), the gods Odin and Pan, Cedar, cinnamon, ginger, lemon, orange, sage, rosemary, Gold, green, yellow, white, red.  The Yule is also known as Day of Children, Midwinter, Mother’s Night, Saturnalia, and Christmas.

Candlemas: Imbolic – Around Feb 1 or Feb 2. This is the time to welcome spring and celebrate things that are yet to be born. It is a celebration of fertility and designates the middle of winter.  Milk was traditionally poured out upon the ground as a type of offering.

Ostara: Spring Equinox-Around mid March. The day and night are of equal length. Ostara is another celebration of spring and the festival deals with fertility, mainly of the animal kingdom and plants.  it celebrates the dead of winter and the beginning of the cycle of rebirth.  During this festival that was customary to exchange colored eggs.

Beltane: Mayday Around the first of May. It is a celebration of vitality and passion. A time for love, union and the Maypole. This holiday represents the divine union of the Lord and Lady.In the old Celtic times, young people would spend the entire night in the woods “A-Maying,” and then dance around the phallic Maypole the next morning. Older married couples were allowed to remove their wedding rings (and the restrictions they imply) for this one night. May morning is a magickal time for wild water (dew, flowing streams, and springs) which is collected and used to bathe in for beauty, or to drink for health.

Summer Solstice: Midsummer Night or Eve- Around mid to late June The longest day of the year and designates a festival of thankfulness and success. Celebrates the Sun God in all his glory.Great time to commune with sprites and faeries.

Lammas: Lughnassadh- Around early August. This festival marks the beginning of the harvest season and the middle of summer. This is a time to prepare for the fall. Great day to harvest herbs for magical use in spells.

Autumn Equinox: Mabon-Around middle to late September. The day and night are of equal length.  It is another harvest festival. This is a festival that designates the beginning of fall.  It marks the dissent of the Goddess into the underworld.

Halloween: Samhain-Around Oct 31.Samhain means “summer’s end” and marks the beginning of winter.  For most Wiccans, this is the new year anytime of reflection where the old is let go and the new is anticipated.It is also known as All Hallows Eve, Blood feast, Celtic New Year, Day of the Dead, Last Harvest, and Winters Eve. It is said that on this night the veil between the worlds is weakest. Divination can be heightened on this night as well. A great time to celebrate the dead and deceased loved ones.

Shop for ritual tools